Entry 5: Second Life

This post is a bit late in coming, but I do want to take a moment to reflect on my first experience with Second Life.  Getting it all set up was about as arduous as you would expect when getting set up with a new technology, though I am proud to say that the worst I managed to do was jump into a wall.  However, eventually I got to the point where I could poke around a bit, and so I did some exploring before reporting in to the CSU island.

I was fortunate that one of the stock avatars looked pretty similar to me and was wearing clothes that are more or less similar to what I am known to wear. Because I have an affinity for being underwater in video games, I of course promptly hopped into a canal and started walking around.   I eventually made it to open water and some more interesting sights.

Emily's Second Life avatar walking around underwater

Emily’s Second Life avatar walking around underwater

Under the sea, I discovered that there were plants and birds and rocks and things such as the shark and flock of Dory fish shown below.

Life under the sea

Life under the sea

More life under the sea

More life under the sea

I didn't actually see any birds but there was this rusty plane

I didn’t actually see any birds but there was this rusty plane

I discovered that there are certain areas where there are sunken objects such as the plane shown above and this capsized boat:

A capsized boat, aged with rust

A capsized boat, aged with rust

One of my most exciting discoveries was my encounter with nothing less than an oarfish:

A REAL, VIRTUALLY ALIVE OARFISH

A REAL, VIRTUALLY ALIVE OARFISH

A low-poly, badly rendered oarfish, but still an oarfish

A low-poly, badly rendered oarfish, but still an oarfish

I was really excited about the oarfish, okay

I was really excited about the oarfish, okay

I mean, how often do you see an oarfish?? NOT VERY OFTEN, SUSAN

I mean, how often do you see an oarfish?? NOT VERY OFTEN, SUSAN

In another part of the ocean, I also discovered some underwater ruins:

Ft. a large jar

Ft. a large jar

The view from the other side.

The view from the other side.

Several smaller jars

Several smaller jars

 

Leave a Reply

