Follow up: Twitter

In my third entry, I talked a bit about my use of Twitter.  Or rather, my lack of use of Twitter, and how much I disliked using Twitter.  However, as I said in that post, I have been trying to make friends with Twitter and log in more than once every few months.  That was 21st March, and today, on this the fourth day of May, I am happy to report that–to my surprise–this effort has actually been going rather well.  I will never be a Twitter super-user, but over the past month or so, I have gotten on Twitter at least a few times and scrolled through my news feed and retweeted some things.  I have yet to tweet something of my own, but all things in due course.

I said in my earlier post that “[t]here’s something about [Twitter] that I can’t put my finger on that doesn’t mesh with the way I use social media.”  I think what has helped me make peace with Twitter is finding a way to use it that incorporates it into my social media life and interests without forcing it or myself to be something we aren’t.  For me, this has been using it as a space to see health-related infographics and graphics in general that can serve as a source of inspiration and learning for me.  I also retweet other things that I find that are interesting or that I like, of course, but visualization of health information gives me something to focus my use of the platform around.  I would even go so far as to say that I enjoy scrolling through Twitter now, which is not something I ever thought I would say.

And they all lived happily ever after.

Leave a Reply

